What Does DG Class Mean?

What is a Class 7 cargo?

Class 7 dangerous goods are radioactive materials.

There is no sub-division.

However, there are different labels for radioactive materials which depend on the content and activity of such materials..

How do you identify DG goods?

proper shipping name (it is assigned by the United Nations Committee of Experts for the Transport of Dangerous. … CAS number is a unique numerical identifiers for chemical elements (CAS=Chemical Abstracts Service is a division of. … UN number is a four digit number assigned by the United Nations to identify dangerous goods.

What is a Class 1 dangerous good?

What are Class 1 dangerous goods and why are they classed as dangerous? Class 1 goods are products that possess the ability to alight or detonate as a consequence of a chemical reaction. Explosives are classified as a hazardous product for a pretty clear reason – they can explode.

What is a class 3 dangerous good?

Class 3 dangerous goods are flammable liquids with flash points no more than 60 celcius degrees. It covers liquid substances, molten solid substances with a flash point above 60 celcius degrees and liquid desensitized explosives.

Is alcohol a dangerous good?

Alcoholic Beverages Cheers! Saúde! … According to IMDG Code, alcoholic beverages containing less than 24% alcohol is not considered as dangerous and which containing more than 24% but less than 70% is not considered as dangerous provided packed in packages containing 250 l or less.

What does PG III mean?

Placards. … PG III (Packing Group III): May be used instead of POISON placard on 454 kg (1001 lb) or more gross weight of Poison PG III materials (see Assignment of packing groups and hazard zones below).

What is the most hazardous class of dangerous goods?

Dangerous Goods Hazard ClassesClass 1, Explosives. … Class 2, Gases. … Class 3, Flammable Liquids.Class 4, Flammable Solid, Spontaneously Combustible, and Dangerous When Wet. … Class 5, Oxidizer, Organic Peroxide. … Class 6, Poison (Toxic), Poison Inhalation Hazard, Infectious Substance. … Class 7, Radioactive Material.More items…•

How many classes of DG are there?

9 ClassesThe 9 Classes of Dangerous Goods. Dangerous goods’ are materials or items with hazardous properties which, if not properly controlled present a potential hazard to human health and safety, infrastructure and/or their means of transport.

What is a Class 5 dangerous good?

Class 5 dangerous goods are oxidizing substances and organic peroxides. There are 2 sub-divisions: Division 5.1: Oxidizing substances. Division 5.2: Organic peroxides.

Which packing group is most dangerous?

Packing group I: substances presenting high danger; Packing group II: substances presenting medium danger; and. Packing group III: substances presenting low danger.

What is dg classification?

Dangerous goods substances and articles are allocated to one of 9 classes. Some of these classes are subdivided into divisions: Class 1: Explosives. Division 1.1: Substances and articles that have a mass explosion hazard. Division 1.2: Substances and articles that have a projection hazard but not a mass explosion …

What are the 9 classes of IMDG Code?

What are the 9 classes of Dangerous Goods?Explosives.Flammable Gases.Flammable Liquids.Flammable solids.Oxidizing.Toxic & Infectious.Radioactive.Corrosives.More items…

What is Class 9 DG?

Class 9 Miscellaneous Dangerous Goods are substances and articles which during transport present a danger or hazard not covered by other 8 classes.

What is a placard load?

When a load of dangerous goods is being transported by road in the ACT, the vehicle may need to have placards (emergency information panels) attached to show that the vehicle is transporting dangerous goods. A load of dangerous goods which requires placards to be attached to the vehicle is known as a placard load.

What is a class 1.4 explosive?

Division 1.4 consists of explosives that present a minor blast hazard. Examples are common fireworks, toy caps, empty primed grenades, and some small arms ammunition.

What is the purpose of the classification of dangerous goods?

The regulations require that goods (substances and articles) be classified according to their hazardous properties and the danger they pose during carriage to the health and safety of the public and emergency services and responders, harm to the environment or damage to property.

What is a Class 2 dangerous good?

Class 2 dangerous goods are gases. It covers compressed gases, liquefied gases, dissolved gases, refrigerated liquefied gases, mixtures of gases and aerosol dispensers/articles containing gas.

What are the 9 hazard classes?

The nine hazard classes are as follows:Class 1: Explosives.Class 2: Gases.Class 3: Flammable and Combustible Liquids.Class 4: Flammable Solids.Class 5: Oxidizing Substances, Organic Peroxides.Class 6: Toxic Substances and Infectious Substances.Class 7: Radioactive Materials.Class 8: Corrosives.More items…